Ohio Arts Council

Black Squirrel Inn - The Official Guest Residence of the Wooster Chamber Music Series

2013-14 Concert Schedule

All concerts are Sundays at 3 p.m. in Gault Recital Hall unless otherwise noted.

Date Group Notes
October 20, 2013

(4 p.m. at First Presbyterian Church)
Emerson String Quartet The Emerson String Quartet stands alone in the history of string quartets with an unparalleled list of achievements spanning three decades: more than 30 acclaimed recordings, nine Grammys, three Gramophone Awards, and the coveted Avery Fisher Award.
November 10, 2013 Joan Kwuon Violin & Piano American violinist Joan Kwuon is widely recognized for her commanding interpretations, graceful flair and deeply communicative voice. Her artistry is committed to a diversity of musical periods and styles ranging from Bach and Beethoven to Stravinsky and Takemitsu.
January 19, 2014 Marian Anderson String Quartet Winners of the 2008 Chamber Music America Guarneri String Quartet Award and the 2006 Congress of Racial Equality Martin Luther King Award for Excellence in Arts and Culture, the Marian Anderson String Quartet is equally at home in the concert hall and the classroom.
February 16, 2014 Gryphon Trio with
Robert Pomakov, bass
The Gryphon has impressed international audiences, and the press with its highly refined, dynamic performances, and has firmly established itself as one of the world’s preeminent piano trios. They welome Metropolitan Opera bass, Robert Pomakov to their performance this season.
March 30, 2014 David Finckel, cello, and Wu Han, piano Cellist David Finckel and pianist Wu Han rank among the most esteemed and influential classical musicians in the world today. In addition to their extensive performance and recording activities, their roles as educators, organizational leaders, and cultural entrepreneurs place them among the classical music community’s most prominent innovators.
April 13, 2014 Arabesque Winds The Arabesque Winds return for their second performance with the Wooster Chamber Music Series. They have represented the Eastman School of Music at the Kennedy Center’s Conservatory Project and also won the Harvard Musical Association’s 2009 Arthur W. Foote Prize.

2013-14 Season Brochurepdf